Cultivating Peace


Theology Forum Cork






Home             Events             Contacts               Links





CTF is a broad-based gathering of people exploring Christian Theology and how it applies today





Saturday 5th December 2009




Violent Futures: 
Cultivating Peace




Prof. Linda Hogan


Linda Hogan is Professor of Ecumenics at the Irish School of Ecumenics, Trinity College Dublin teaching a range of courses including Ethics in International Affairs and The Ethics of Human Rights. 


She is the author of;

Confronting the Truth: Conscience in the Catholic Tradition, New York, Paulist Press, and London, Darton, Longman & Todd, 2000

From Women’s Experience to Feminist Theology, Sheffield, Sheffield Academic Press, 1995, 1998. 


She became a Fellow of Trinity College Dublin in 2007.




Professor Hogan will explore her theme from the prospective of Jonathan Schell's book ‘The Unconquerable World: Power, Nonviolence, and the Will of the People’.


Schell argues that not withstanding the violence of the 20th Century there’s also a 'less-noticed, parallel history of nonviolent power'. His book is a chronicle of the 'good news' of the twentieth century, albeit with the recognition that this positive narrative has been more or less overwhelmed by the narratives of violence and genocide that have occurred alongside it. 


Schell's analysis will be the starting point for a consideration of how Christians can witness to the promise of peace that is central to the gospel message. 


A key question will be whether the Christian tradition's acceptance of 'just war' principles has undermined the radical task of peace-making.






Rochestown Park Hotel








Annual Membership Sub’s Due Now


Registration fee €15, Paid-up Members €10



09.30am       Registration

10.00           Introduction

10.15           Lecture

11.15           Coffee break

11.45           Discussion groups

12.15           Plenary session

12.45           AGM:

·        Chairperson’s report,

·        Treasurer’s report,

·        Election of Committee 2009 - 2012

13.15pm Departures





Top of Page




CTF Committee 07- 09

Mary Coakley,  Carol Dorgan, Anne Francis, Geraldine Gracie,

Derek Johnston, Steve Lawes, Evelyne O’Callaghan, Tom Riordan, John Scanlan